Flashbacks: My Xinyao Days with the Rainbow Group 彩虹小組

Look what a former school mate just sent me – photos of my Xinyao (新謠) singing days and my very first encounter with show business (so to speak) in the ’80s!

When I was a student at River Valley High School, I was more interested in singing than studying. Other than joining and leading the school choir, I also participated in several local singing events, particularly the Xinyao ones. In 1987, I became part of a 7-member singing group called 彩虹小組 (Rainbow Group), replacing a graduating member. Our group had emerged as a winner in one of the major Xinyao competitions that year, and we were invited to perform on TV for a local variety show. It was my very first time at the TV station, which was still called Singapore Broadcasting Corporation (SBC) back then.

See if you could recognise me in these old photos…

My schooldays' Xinyao group 彩虹小組 at the entrance of the local TV station, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation, in 1987.

My schooldays’ Xinyao group 彩虹小組 at the entrance of the local TV station, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation, in 1987.

My schooldays' Xinyao group 彩虹小組 together with our teacher-in-charge at the entrance of the local TV station, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation, in 1987.

My schooldays’ Xinyao group 彩虹小組 together with our teacher-in-charge at the entrance of the local TV station, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation, in 1987.

My schooldays' Xinyao group 彩虹小組 at the entrance of the local TV station, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation, in 1987.

My schooldays’ Xinyao group 彩虹小組 at the entrance of the local TV station, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation, in 1987.

Okay, I’m the second from left, in the last photo.

We sang <我們這一班> by Dawn Gan, and written by Ng King Kang and Huang Yuan Cheng, a song that represented our school days perfectly!

We also got invited to perform at a local orphanage near our school.

My schooldays' Xinyao group 彩虹小組 performing to a group of children from a local orphanage at Teban Gardens, in 1987.

My schooldays’ Xinyao group 彩虹小組 performing to a group of children from a local orphanage at Teban Gardens, in 1987.

I missed those carefree sing-song days already!

Well, the good news is that I’ll be singing backing vocals and performing with many of my former Xinyao idols and seniors in the upcoming “Our Xin Yao Concert” on 8th March 2015 at the Suntec Singapore Conventional & Exhibition Centre.

Our Xin Yao Concert 2015

Our Xin Yao Concert 2015

Do come watch, and get tickets here: http://www.sistic.com.sg/events/xinyao0315

Leave a Reply

